What does the stars and stripes mean on the Confederate flag?

Written By: national flag consisting of seven white stars on a blue canton with a field of three alternating stripes, two red and one white. The stars represent the seven seceded states of the U.S. Deep South. As many as eight more stars were later added to represent states admitted to or claimed by the Confederacy.

Considering this, what is the meaning of the Confederate flag?

Supporters of the flag’s continued use claim it is a symbol of Southern ancestry and heritage as well as representing a distinct and independent cultural tradition of the Southern United States from the rest of the country. For other supporters, the Confederate flag represents only a past era of Southern sovereignty.

Additionally, why does Confederate flag have 13 stars? The number of stars, representing the number of seceding states, increased to 13 after Missouri was admitted into the Confederacy on November 28, 1861 and a Kentucky secessionist provisional government that had formed on November 18 was voted into the Confederacy on December 10.

Then, what 13 states represent the Confederate flag?

The flag now had 13 stars having been joined officially by four more states, Virginia (April 17, 1861), Arkansas (May 6, 1861), Tennessee (May 7, 1861), North Carolina (May 21, 1861). Efforts to secede failed in Kentucky and Missouri though those states were represented by two of the stars.

What does the stripes on the flag mean?

The stripes represent the original 13 Colonies and the stars represent the 50 states of the Union. The colors of the flag are symbolic as well; red symbolizes hardiness and valor, white symbolizes purity and innocence, and blue represents vigilance, perseverance and justice.

19 Related Question Answers Found

What did Confederates stand for?

The Confederate States Army was the military land force of the Confederate States of America (commonly referred to as the Confederacy) during the American Civil War (1861–1865), fighting against the United States forces.

What do the Confederates stand for?

Confederate States of America, also called Confederacy, in the American Civil War, the government of 11 Southern states that seceded from the Union in 1860–61, carrying on all the affairs of a separate government and conducting a major war until defeated in the spring of 1865. Confederate States of America.

What does the Confederate flag look like?

A white rectangle two times as wide as it is tall, a red quadrilateral in the canton, inside the canton is a blue saltire with white outlining, with thirteen white five-pointed stars of equal size inside the saltire. The third national flag of the Confederate States of America.

Is the Confederate flag an emoji?

No one has a Confederate flag emoji. Only after the Unicode Consortium okays an emoji that has been up for consideration can any emoji be added. Apple uses unicode standard, so feedback will not change anything.

What does the Confederate flag stand for in 2018?

October 23, 2018. The distinctive configuration of white stars mounted on a blue “X” and set against a field of red is now widely known as the Confederate flag. But it was originally the battle flag of Confederate Gen. Robert E. Lee’s Army of Northern Virginia.

What is the difference between a rebel flag and a Confederate flag?

So in 1863 the Confederate Congress adopted a white flag with the battle flag in the upper left corner. It was nicknamed the “Stainless Banner”: The “Rebel flag” is distinctive and memorable; the others, not so much. In fact, the Rebel flag has been more widely used since World War II than it was during the Civil War.

What was the real reason for the Civil War?

A common explanation is that the Civil War was fought over the moral issue of slavery. In fact, it was the economics of slavery and political control of that system that was central to the conflict. A key issue was states’ rights.

What were the Confederates fighting for?

Status of the states, 1861 Although there were opposing views even in the Union States, most northern soldiers were mostly indifferent on the subject of slavery, while Confederates fought the war mainly to protect a southern society of which slavery was an integral part.

What are the names of the 13 Confederate states?

Alabama. Arizona. Arkansas. Florida. Georgia. Louisiana. Mississippi. New Mexico.

What does the colors on the Confederate flag stand for?

As of the flags, the colors themselves have their own significant meaning. Blue, the color behind the white stars stands for vigilance, perseverance, and justice. The red, one of the colors of the stripes, mean hardness and courage. Something both the Confederate and the Union had and fought for.

Is Kentucky a Confederate state?

Kentucky was a border state of key importance in the American Civil War. Kentucky officially declared its neutrality at the beginning of the war, but after a failed attempt by Confederate General Leonidas Polk to take the state of Kentucky for the Confederacy, the legislature petitioned the Union Army for assistance.

What were the 11 seceding states?

The eleven states of the CSA, in order of their secession dates (listed in parentheses), were: South Carolina (December 20, 1860), Mississippi (January 9, 1861), Florida (January 10, 1861), Alabama (January 11, 1861), Georgia (January 19, 1861), Louisiana (January 26, 1861), Texas (February 1, 1861), Virginia (April 17

Who won the Civil War?


What was the first Confederate flag?

On May 1, 1863, the Confederacy adopted its first official national flag, often called the Stainless Banner. That design integrated the Battle Flag as a canton on a field of white.

Which states are represented on the Confederate flag?

The seven stars represent the original Confederate States; South Carolina (December 20, 1860), Mississippi(January 9, 1861), Florida (January 10,1861), Alabama (January 11, 1861), Georgia (January 19, 1861), Louisiana (January 26, 1861), and Texas (February 1, 1861).

Where can I buy Confederate flags?

People Are Buying Confederate Flags in Droves as Race Debate Spreads Across the U.S. You can’t buy a Confederate flag from Amazon, Etsy or Walmart, but they’re available at Alabama Flag & Banner, which claims to be the only U.S.-based company manufacturing the rebel flag.

Which states were Confederate and Union?

The Confederacy included the states of Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana, Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, Florida, South Carolina, North Carolina and Virginia. Jefferson Davis was their President. Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Kentucky and Missouri were called Border States.

What were the 5 main weapons in the civil war?

During the war, a variety of weapons were used on both sides. These weapons include edged weapons such as knives and swords, firearms such as, rifled-muskets, breech loaders and repeating weapons, various field guns such as artillery, and new weapons such as the early grenade and machine gun.

What did the Union flag look like during the Civil War?

At the beginning of the war, the Union flag carried 33 stars, like the Fort Sumter flag (above). However, in early 1861, Kansas joined the Union. This brought the official star total up to 34. Finally, in 1863, West Virginia was added as the 35th state in the Union, bringing the star count up once more.

Leave a Comment