What’s the capital of the 50 states?

Washington, D.C.

Click to see full answer Correspondingly, what are the capitals of the 50 states?

State Capitals

  • Alabama. Montgomery.
  • Juneau.
  • Phoenix.
  • Little Rock.
  • Sacramento.
  • Denver.
  • Hartford.
  • Dover.

Additionally, what are 50 states in order? The 50 U.S. states, in alphabetical order, along with each state’s flag:

  • Alabama.
  • Alaska.
  • Arizona.
  • Arkansas.
  • California.
  • Colorado.
  • Connecticut.
  • Delaware.

Herein, what is the capital of every state?

Each state is listed below with its corresponding capital, state bird, and state flower:

  • Alabama Capital: Montgomery.
  • Alaska Capital: Juneau.
  • Arizona Capital: Phoenix.
  • Arkansas Capital: Little Rock.
  • California Capital: Sacramento.
  • Colorado Capital: Denver.
  • Connecticut Capital: Hartford.
  • Delaware Capital: Dover.

Do states have capitals?

Each U.S. state has its own capital city, as do many of its insular areas. Most states have not changed their capital city since becoming a state, but the capital cities of their respective preceding colonies, territories, kingdoms, and republics typically changed multiple times.

13 Related Question Answers Found

What city is capital of the world?


What are the 52 states of America?

The United States of America Alabama. Alaska. Arizona. Arkansas. California. Colorado. Connecticut. Delaware.

How many states are in United State?

50 states

What is the oldest state in America?

The United States in Order of Statehood Order State Date Admitted 1 Delaware 1787-12-7 2 Pennsylvania 1787-12-12 3 New Jersey 1787-12-18 4 Georgia 1788-1-2

Is DC a state or city?

Washington, D.C. (also known as simply Washington or D.C. and officially as the District of Columbia) is the capital of the United States. It is neither a state nor a city. It is a territory.

How many states are in the United States 50 or 52?

Currently, the US has 50 states as well as a federal district, minor islands, and five main territories. Of these 50 states, 48 of them are contiguous, that is, they are connected directly. These 48 states all exist in the central region of North America between Mexico and Canada.

What US states are known for?

What Each State Is Known For #1. Alaska: known for its Northern Lights. #2. Arkansas: known for America’s First Toothbrush. #3. Alabama: first state to revoke wife battering. #4. Arizona: Largest area of land set aside for Native Americans. #5. California: Hollywood. #6. #7. #8.

What is difference between Washington and DC?

Washington is a state that is located on the Pacific coast of the United States. Washington DC, located on the east coast of the USA, is the capital of the United States. The key difference between Washington and Washington DC is that Washington is a state whereas Washington DC is a federal district.

How is a capital city chosen?

A capital city (or capital town or just capital) is a city or town, specified by law or constitution, by the government of a country, or part of a country, such as a state, province or county. It usually serves as the location of the government’s central meeting place and offices.

What is the difference between state and capital?

What is the difference between states and capitals? Usually a “state” is a country. The term “capital” usually refers to a city which is the seat of Government of a country.

What was the 1st state?


Is Puerto Rico a state?

As it is not a state, Puerto Rico does not have a vote in the United States Congress, which governs the territory with full jurisdiction under the Puerto Rico Federal Relations Act of 1950. However, Puerto Rico does have one non-voting member of the House called a Resident Commissioner.

Will there be a 51st state?

Puerto Rico has been discussed as a potential 51st state of the United States. In a 2012 status referendum a majority of voters, 54%, expressed dissatisfaction with the current political relationship. On January 4, 2017, Puerto Rico’s new representative to Congress pushed a bill that would ratify statehood by 2025.

Leave a Comment